Race Series News »

Lucas Oil ASCS Season Begins with Fanfest at Cocopah Speedway

The 23rd season of competition for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV American Real begins in just under a week’s time at the Cocopah Speedway, just outside Yuma, Ariz.

Before the business of points, money, and glory can commence, the party must take place with Fanfest at the Cocopah Resort and Casino on Thursday, February 27.

Bringing driver and machine to the fans, this year’s Fanfest will begin at 6:00 P.M. (MT) in front of the Resort and Casino and will include music, food, and a meet and greet with the drivers of the ASCS Nation. The event is free to all who want to attend.

The Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour along with the ASCS Southwest Region kicks off their season Friday, February 28 and Saturday, March 1 at the Cocopah Speedway with the second installment of the Cocopah Cup Challenge. Tickets for the two-day event are on sale now at www.cocopahspeedway.com.

Both nights of competition at the Cocopah Speedway begin at 7:00 P.M. with grandstands opening at 4:00 P.M. Tickets are on sale now at www.cocopahspeedway.com or by calling 928-344-1563.

The Series: 

Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV American Real 

When and Where: 

Cocopah Speedway

County 15th & US 95

Somerton, AZ 85350


Thursday, February 27 – Fanfest, free at the Cocopah Casino at 6:00 P.M.

Friday, February 28 - Gates Open at 4:00 P.M. (MT) / Racing at 7:00 P.M.

Saturday, March 1 - Gates Open at 4:00 P.M. (MT) / Racing at 7:00 P.M.


Pit Gates open at 2:00 P.M. both days.


Admission Prices:


Adults – $20.00

Senior/Military – $18.00

Junior – $5.00

Skybox – $30.00

Pit pass – $30.00


Contact Information:


Website: www.cocopahspeedway.com

Email: info@cocopahspeedway.com

Phone: 928-344-1563


Series History: Cocopah Speedway

The Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV American Real has visited the Cocopah Speedway six times beginning in 2012. Three drivers have earned National Tour wins at the three-eighths mile oval. Past Winners: Dustin Morgan (3/9/12), Danny Wood (3/10/12), Jason Johnson (3/1/13, 3/2/13, 11/8/2013, and 11/9/2013)

Event Coverage:

Online audio will be available both nights at www.racinboys.com. Live broadcasts are brought to you by Lucas Oil and presented by the McCarthy Auto Group, located in the Kansas City metropolitan area.

Line-ups, finishes, and further updates are provided throughout each race night at www.facebook.com/lucasoilascs and www.twitter.com/lucasoilascs.

Live Timing and scoring is available at most Lucas Oil ASCS events via Race Monitor which is available in the App Store of your Smart Phone or Tablet.


Recap – 2013 “A” Feature Winners: Jason Johnson-10, Jeff Swindell-5, Johnny Herrera-4, Roger Crockett-3, Brian Brown-4, Danny Lasoski-3, Logan Forler-2, Brad Loyet-2, Tony Bruce, Jr.-2, Sammy Swindell-2, Kyle Bellm, Jack Dover, Seth Bergman, Jonathan Cornell, Travis Rilat, Justin Henderson, Shane Stewart, Tim Crawley, Anthony Nicholson, Christopher Bell, David Gravel

Recap – Final 2013 Lucas Oil ASCS Driver Standings (Top 10) 1.Jason Johnson 5,363; 2.Johnny Herrera 5,251; 3.Jeff Swindell 5,061; 4.Brad Loyet 5,006; 5.Tony Bruce, Jr. 4,964; 6.Logan Forler 4,868; 7.Seth Bergman 4,700; 8.Dustin Morgan 4,410; 9.Cole Wood 4,137; 10. Brandon Hahn 3,484;


The 2014 season marks the twenty-third year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation. Anchored by the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Lucas Oil Products is the title sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. More information can be found on Lucas Oil Products at www.lucasoil.com. MAVTV is the presenting sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. Log ontowww.mavtv.com for information regarding availability and listings in your area.

Associate sponsors for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV include: Hoosier Racing Tire and Brodix.

Team Lucas Sponsors for the American Sprint Car Series consist of Protect the Harvest, iON Camera, Smokey Mountain Moonshine, C&R Radiator, Hawk Performance Products, Geico, E3 Spark Plugs, and General Tire.

Product and Contingency Sponsorship provided by: K&N Filters, PitstopUSA.com, Competition Suspension, Engler Machine and Tool, FSR Radiator and Racing Products, Schoenfeld Headers, Driverwebsites.com, Weld Wheels, Saldana Racing Products, Maxwell Industries, Print Place, Simpson, The Joie of Seating, Wesmar Racing Engines, Hinchman Indy Racewear, Brown and Miller Racing Solutions, Rod End Supply, Smiley’s Racing Products, Speedway Motors, Speedmart, and Hilborn Injection Systems.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at www.ascsracing.com as well as Twitter (@LucasOilASCS) and Facebook. News and information can also be sent to you with the ASCS E-News by texting ASCS to 22828 with any mobile device.

by Bryan Hulbert

  • Like!

Facebook Comments:

Birthday Quotes