Race Series News »

Schrader Charges to USCS vs. Gulf States Modified Series Win at the Mag

Sixth starting Ken Schrader from Concord, North Carolina charged to the front on lap ten of the twenty-five lap K&N Filters USCS Outlaw Modified Series vs. the new Gulf States Modified Series main event and raced the final fifteen laps to the www.rockauto.com USCS victory lane at Magnolia Motor Speedway on Saturday night. Schrader used the highline around the race track to hold off fellow NASCAR veteran driver Kenny “The Hermanator” Wallace from St., Louis, Missouri who started eighth in the talent laden forty car field of drivers from eight states. The open wheel modifieds put on a stellar show in front of one of the largest crowds in the speedway’s history. Wallace was followed by Greg Hollingsworth from Lawrence, Mississippi in the K&N Filters Podium Award third place. Mid South Modified star Chris Moore from Nesbit, Mississippi followed Hollingsworth in fourth place and the 2009 K&N Filters USCS Modified Champion, Hunter Rasdon from Jonesboro, Arkansas rounded out the top five drivers.

Standout USCS Modified driver Lucas Lee from Paris, Tennessee led the next group in sixth place followed by 2012 K&N Filters USCS Modified Champion, Ben Reed from Munford, Tennessee in seventh place. Jeff Wells, Jr. from Truman, Arkansas finished in eighth place. Luke Riddle from Hartselle, Alabama finished ninth and the 2013 K&N Filters USCS Modified Series Championship runner-up, J.C. Waller from Arlington, Tennessee rounded out the top ten.

Rodney Wing from Meridian, Mississippi set fast time of 15.426 around the 3/8 mile clay oval and started the K&N Filters USCS Modified Power Dash on the Pole. Cade Dillard from Robeline, Louisiana who was the 2013 USCS “Frostbuster 250” Champion, beat Wing to the finish-line in that 6-lap dash contest to earn the K&N Filters Pole Award and the pole position for the Modified main event.

When the green flag flew Wing raced into the lead and held off Dillard for the first five laps, but the pole starter (Dillard) raced past Wing on lap six and led until the duo started lap ten. At that point Dillard and Wing touched wheels entering turn one and Dillard’s night was done with front-end damage. After changing a flat right front tire, Wing re-started at the rear of the field after the caution to remove Dillard’s car from the track. Schrader, who had passed Hollingsworth for the third position, prior to the caution flag, was now leading the field with Kenny Wallace and Greg Hollingsworth on his rear bumper for the restart. Schrader then closed the deal by racing smoothly around the top of the racing surface while the Wallace and Hollingsworth duo battled for the runner-up spot with the balance of the field chasing them.

After group qualifying set the line-ups, qualifying heat race winners were as follows: Jeff Wells, Jr. won the Wilwood Disc Brakes First Heat. Kenny Wallace won the Aero Race Wheels Second Heat Race, Ben Stephens from Hattiesburg, Mississippi won the Safety-Kleen Third Heat Race. Rusty Cooper from Saucier, Mississippi won the Schoenfeld Headers First B-Main. J.C. Waller won the KSE Racing Products Second B-Main. Chris Moore who started fourteenth in the A-Main event and finished fourth, advanced the most positions (10 places) to earn the Comp Cams Hardcharger Award.

Friday night’s portion of the huge two-day event was rained-out and cancelled at 6:20 p.m. after pesky showers continued for several hours.

The next event for the K&N Filters USCS Outlaw Modified Series is the 2nd Annual “Tennessee 200” on Friday and Saturday, March 14th and 15th at Tennessee National Raceway (formerly Hohenwald Motorsports) in Hohenwald, Tennessee. Many of the same drivers entered at the Magnolia Motor Speedway season opener are expected for that event. For information on Tennessee National Raceway please visit www.racetn.com or call 931-796-1890. For rules and info on the K&N Filters USCS Outlaw Modified Series please visitwww.uscsracing.com or call 770-865-6097.

USCS “Frostbuster 250” K&N Filters USCS Outlaw Modified series at Magnolia Motor Speedway on Saturday, March 1, 2014 results:

K&N Filters USCS Modified Power Dash: Cade Dillard, Rodney Wing, Greg Hollingsworth, Lucas Lee, Hunter Rasdon and Ken Schrader.

Wilwood Disc Brakes Heat #1 – #1 Jeff Wells Jr
Aero Race Wheels Heat #2 – #36 Kenny Wallace
Safety Kleen Heat #3 – #34 Ben Stephens
Schoenfeld Headers B-main #1 – #6 Rusty Cooper
KSE Racing Products B-main #2 – #7w JC Waller

K&N Filters USCS Outlaw Modified Feature Finish – 25 laps:
1. 9 Ken Schrader, Concord, NC
2. 36 Kenny Wallace, St. Louis, MO
3. 008 Greg Hollingsworth, Lawrence, MS
4. 45x Chris Moore, Nesbit, MS
5. R5 Hunter Rasdon, Jonesboro, AR
6. 12 Lucas Lee, Paris, TN
7. 07 Ben Reed, Munford, TN
8. 1 Jeff Wells Jr, Truman, AR
9. 28 Luke Riddle,Hartselle, AL
10. 7w JC Waller, Arlington, TN
11. 00 Jon Gray, Jonesboro, AR
12. 21 Troy Dow, Munford, TN
13. 6 Rusty Cooper, Saucier, MS
14. 9k Robert Casada, Petal, MS
15. 89 Joseph Leister, Millington, TN
16. 29 Preston Seratt, Dyersburg, TN
17. 51 Rodney Wing, Meridian, MS
18. 34 Ben Stephens, Hattiesburg, MS
19. 04 Rodney Ethridge, Tuscaloosa, AL
20. 24R Daniel Roe, Paragould, AR
21. 97 Cade Dillard, Robeline, LA
22. 25 Toby Hodge, Burns, MS
23. 10 Jason Henry, Brandon, MS
24. 34 Noah Daspit, Kiln, MS

Did not transfer to Feature Event:
44 Jim Gulley, Brooklyn, AR
12b Shannon Brack, Jonesboro, AR
25 Blake Liscomb, Hoxie, AR
43 Dennis Schoenfeld, Van Buren, AR
01 Rusty Stagen, Memphis, TN
115 Dustin Elliott, Pine Mountain, GA
17 Alan Banks, Gordo, AL
28 Mitchell Cauley, Indianola, MS
9x Josh Green, Paragould, AR
99r Justin Roberts, Paragould, AR
2 Owen Aycock, Pelahatchie, MS
13 Jeff Scott, Hernando, MS
00 Justin Cross, Centerville, TN
99 Brandon Poppenheimer, Nesbit, MS
12d Rusty Duncan, Tuscaloosa, AL
B25 Todd Bates, Hurricane, Mills, TN

K&N Filters USCS Outlaw Modified Sereis Race Awards:
K&N Filters Pole Award: #97 Cade Dillard
K&N Filters Podium (3rd place) Award: #008 Gregg Hollingsworth
Comp Cam Hardcharger Award: #45x Chris Moore
Wilwood Disc Brakes First Heat Award: #1 Jeff Wells, Jr.
Aero Race Wheels Second Heat Award: #36 Kenny Wallace
Safety Kleen Third Heat Award: #34 Ben Stephens
Saldana Racing Products Top Five Award: # R5 Hunter Rasdon
Pyrotect Racing Cells Lucky Seven Award: #07 Ben Reed
DMI/Bulldog Rear End Top Ten Award: #7w J.C. Waller

The K&N Filters USCS Modified Series would like to gratefully thank its sponsoring partners for their involvement in advancing the series: K&N Filters, www.rockauto.com, Wilwood Disc Brakes, Aero Race Wheels, Comp Cams, Saldana Racing Products, Pyrotect Racing Cells, DMI/Bulldog Rear Ends. KSE Racing Products, Schoenfeld Headers, Brown and Miller Racing Solutions, Schaeffer Oil and Safety-Kleen.

by Pete Walton

  • Like!

Facebook Comments:

Birthday Quotes